This hotel does a good line in sea views, relaxed pools and Sensimar entertainment.
This luxury hotel overlooks the sea with great views of the harbour. A promenade leads into Los Cristianos – roughly 15 minutes’ walk away – and stretches onwards to Playa de las Americas.
The centrepiece here is the two pools teamed with a palm-dotted terrace. Highlights on the food front include sea-view à la carte lunches, and in the evenings a piano bar and show lounge provide the entertainment.
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating
Based On 3043 reviews
- Official Rating
Food & Drink
|Dining options||Breakfast||Lunch||Evening meal||Drinks||Snacks|
Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Buffet breakfast and dinner.
Facilities ► View all
2 outdoor pools
Both pools are heated in the winter months. Sunbeds with mattresses and parasols are provided. You can hire pool towels for a deposit.
Las Vistas buffet restaurant
Las Vistas offers breakfast and evening meals with show cooking. There's a dress code here, with full-length trousers for gentlemen and no cut-off shorts for ladies at your evening meal.
Culinarium à la carte restaurant*
For lunch by the pool, with special tasting menus and tapas. Open on Thursday evenings for dinner, too.
Rooms► View all
twin room with limited sea view and balcony
These twin rooms come with a balcony with limited sea views. You'll have air-conditioning, TV, Wi-Fi* and a minibar*. Bathrobes, slippers and tea and coffee-making facilities are also included. These sleep 3 with 1 extra bed in the bedroom.
twin room with sea view and balcony
These sea-view twin rooms are fresh and bright, and come with a balcony offering outside space. You'll have air-conditioning, TV, Wi-Fi* and a minibar*. Bathrobes, slippers and tea and coffee-making facilities are also included. These sleep 3 with 1 extra bed in the bedroom.
TripAdvisor Reviews Show more reviews »
Our first stay - will be back!,
Having been to Tenerife many times this was our first stay at the Arona Gran. Starting with the taxi pick up at the airport to,our very personal check in we felt we were going to enjoy our stay. We had taken The UP offer and did not regret it. Anna in charge of this made us very welcome and will surely make it a great success. The rooms were very comfortable, the food in the restaurants first class - you would never starve! We will be back.More
Colin B, 1192231
Renamed the 'Aroma' Gran ....
I agree for the most part with the majority reviewers of this hotel and its facilities. It is lovely - and, clearly, there are many repeat customers. I did object to paying 15 euros for the use of the in-room safe which seems unjustifiable. There are obviously different 'grades' of guests depending on how one books with the hotel. We came via a tour company and were graded 'D' (printed on the guest card) which presupposes three grades took precedence -- and there as some evidence of this from the reception staff. For example: Our room on the 2nd floor was small and although newly refurbished there was a strong smell of sewage from the bathroom drain. It took five hours and three separate pleas to the management to remedy ... and then the stench merely relocated to the balcony. For a buffet-driven experience, this was one of the best: endless varieties of food including some 'show' cooking (i.e. eggs/steaks cooked to order, etc.); the majority of the restaurant staff were excellent and enthusiastic. New Year's Eve was particularly impressive. Evening entertainment was a mixed bag: the house band was terrible but the opera duo, excellent. Jeremy and his ardent band of fans have a wonderful time in the piano bar and provided a welcome relief from the dire trio in the show-lounge. The pool-side aqua-aerobics lasted approximately thirty minutes - tolerable - and there were no problems in obtaining a lounger. I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing break (without kids). There was a good mix of ages/nationalities.More
Great hotel shame about the squatters next door
Great location, great rooms, great pools, great food. Shows every night, Some acts can be a mature, Jeremy the the resident piano player is a scream, Just stayed there for two weeks over new year and the weather was horrid, New Year's Eve we were kept awake all night until 8 am next day by the homeless squatters that have moved in next door in the empty shop units, most guests feel threatened by them, especially after dark, when is somebody going to do something about this, new sun terrace on the roof but who is going to pay Â£50 a day extra, sun beds can be a ongoing problem round the pool, you have retired guests rushing out at 7-30 in a morning to put there towels on them, I have watched them, they have a new manager just arrived and I hope he can get this sorted,More
Ken M, 186328
UP facility very good
Stayed in recently upgraded junior suite. Good, spacious accommodation with great views.UP terrace very pleasant and big feature of this hotel is that pools are heated to about 30c.Buffet offered wide variety of good quality food. Staff always pleasant and helpful.More
A very relaxing holiday but a little disappointment too. Great holiday though.
I want to give you a true picture of this hotel, its position, management and how it met my expectations. This is my opinion and my experience. This hotel has a stunning foyer; marble flooring and brightly lit with a staircase leading down towards the dining room and to the swimming pools (2) and terrace. We booked this hotel through the Spring Hotel website and paid for a Twin with Pool and/or Sea View. We were delighted that shortly after our arrival the Reception staff we were able to accommodate our request to move from a second floor room with a view of the sea alone, to a sixth floor room overlooking the swimming pool with a view of the sea and the bay of Los Cristianos. We understand that the hotel has recently been refurbished and confirm that the bedroom is large, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The wardrobe has a safe within it and we were not asked to pay additional fee for its use, though I believe that some people have paid a fee, but this may be due to booking through a hotel company. Comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities. We had two bottles of still water on arrival and every day a further two bottles were left for us - again no additional charge. There are fridges in the room that contain alcohol and soft drinks though we did not take/purchase anything from the fridge, but did use it for our chilled water. Great shower room with the provision of shower gel/shampoo/conditioner and towels were replaced as and when we needed them. Nice quality towels. Bathrobe and slippers were provided too. The room balcony contained a table and two padded chairs with foot rests and a canopy if you wished to use it. Only one negative with our room. We had seen in Trip Advisor reviews that building works were going on at the hotel, specifically on the roof where they are building a swimming pool. Before booking the hotel, I contacted the Spring Hotel management via telephone and another of our party, communicated with the management via email. Both forms of communication said that building work was due to be completed by 31st October 2016 and that the 'noisy' works had already been completed; therefore we had nothing to worry about as our stay at the hotel started on the 8th November 2016. Unfortunately, this information was unreliable and noisy building works took place above our 6th floor room from morning through to the evening on most days of our 14 day holiday. Our complaint was that we should have been contacted and advised of the delay in completion of the work so that we could make an informed decision on whether we still wished to stay at the Arona Gran especially as we had queried the works prior to our expected date of arrival. For the most part, we stayed out of our room until after 5.30pm but some days the work continued on until 7pm. We brought this issue to the attention of Management and was given adequate compensation for the inconvenience. On a positive, the food was excellent; lots of choice and varied though I did use the microwave to heat up some foods, such as scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes. We ate in a side room of the dining room, which gave a more 'restaurant' feel to our meals. The waiting staff were always polite and helpful. The themed evening meals were delightful and I especially loved the gazpacho. Steaks and fish were cooked to order and there was always a 'roast' available. I avoided the delicious looking desserts but did succumb to the variety of cheeses on offer every evening. There were musicians singing/playing on a couple of the themed evenings which was also delightful. The swimming pools; there are two - one heated about 30 degrees and the other 25/26 degrees. Daily aqua-aerobics took place. Other than that one hour of music, the pool area was very quiet. As you can imagine, this is an adult only hotel and the time of year clearly is more appealing to the 'older' adult. We were in a group of 6 so perhaps we made a little more noise than most around us. We had fun. Most importantly the sun beds are very comfortable (with cushions) and towels are provided and available from 10am until 5pm. This is complimentary. The pool staff were very obliging and helpful. One additional cause for concern was that not only mine but two other ladies I am aware of, found that silver jewellery items became tarnished after going into the pools. Including me, one other lady brought this issue to the attention of management. I accepted their offer to clean my two silver rings and my Medi alert silver bracelet. I wear the bracelet as it bears details relating to my wellbeing so it's not a sensible option for me to not wear my bracelet. Unfortunately attempting to remove the tarnishing from my jewellery did not work and I must replace it or continue to wear a blackened silver bracelet. I provided management with the details of the cost to replace my bracelet which I don't think is unreasonable. However the management deny all responsibility. I have had a wonderful holiday with my party and overall the hotel is very good but not only is my jewellery tarnished but my impression is tarnished of the Management of the hotel. I've held off placing my review as it is not usual for me to submit negative reviews. However I did receive the following response on the 12th December. I do feel somewhat unhappy that the response is a reflection from the Management that I am being treated as if I have fabricated the issue and a slur on my character. In addition I think it would be irresponsible of me not to warn of the likelihood that others could experience the same problem with silver items worn in the pool. If you can remove your jewellery, I recommend you do. Dear Madam, Many thanks for bringing this matter to my attention. Our PR had already commented to me the incident, however I must insist that in our swimming pool we do not use chemicals and we produce the chlorination of the water of our swimming pools with salt hence we are very sorry but we cannot accept any responsibility and I am afraid that we cannot reimburse you the cost of your medical alert identity and ring. Yours sincerely, Kind regards, Francisco Almeda Hotel Manager More
Things To Do View all »
Half Board€718 per personView details
Items marked with * incur extra charges which are payable locally